Face-Time

Weekend computer work is hard for me. After spending almost 18 hours each day in front of the computer, the last thing I want to do on a weekend is to look at a computer again. Hence, the lack of post on Saturday šŸ™‚

It was not always the case. I used to be like the rest of my generation; communicating via Facebook, emails, IRCs, orkuts etc etc. Until I got a jerk. I was waiting at the airport arrival gate for my parents to come and when they appeared, I got a shock of my life. In one week, they seemed to have aged a 100 years! When I asked them what on earth happened, I got a perplexed look. Coz they had a blast of a time and were extremely energized and refreshed, contrary to my presumption.

That’s when I realized that it’s not them who have suddenly aged, it’s me who has been blind to this despite living under the same roof. In the quest to be updated online and keep in touch with people I have never nor will ever meet, I forgot those who are around me. On the spot a resolution was made; no computer in the evenings (unless it’s work) and none on weekends (unless it’s work).

It’s been almost 3 years since I started that and now I find having to drag myself in front of a computer on weekends.

And boy, do I love it šŸ™‚

One thought on “Face-Time

  1. aandj8804

    Like you, I also decided against posting on Saturdays. I am in front of the computer 5 other days of the week, and I need to spend time with people I love (and disconnect) during the weekends. Unlike you though, sometimes I feel like I need to be doing work on the weekends. Come Monday I’m always behind. šŸ˜¦ It’s one thing to know you are doing the right thing by dedicating time to family on the weekends and another to see the work-related result you face when the week starts again.

    Like

    Reply

What do you think?

