Deja-Vu

Am still trying hard to define my new role; since my boss seems to be least interested in doing so. That’s posing to be a challenge as I feel slighted by all the country folks; they seem to feel like I am their punching bag, their saviour, their to-do person, their scapegoat in turns.

The rep handling the last event had the gal to ask me to back off. What’s the point of being the project manager if you can’t even ask the status of the project?

Anyway, it also seems to be back to the old mode; be the workhorse and forget the rest. No strategy, no autonomy, no decision making; just develop models / financials and let the rest do the exciting work.

I can take drastic action but I seem to be in a mode of lethargy now. Nothing I seem to do works so why even bother? Folks keep saying look at the silver lining, keep a positive outlook, things will turn out better etc etc. My response to them? It has not gotten better for 10 odd years, what statistics do you have to prove that it will get better going forth.

What do you think?

