Nightmare

For the first time in my life, I had a nightmare yesterday.

Let me tell you something about my brain history, I always remember dreams which re-occur more than once. So far, I have never been able to figure out their meanings in time, as they are usually metamorphic, but they always come true. Always…..without an exception.

For example, I had a dream of dad driving through snow on a narrow road winding through the mountain. The car gets stuck and I somehow end up getting separated from my parents. A tall person in all brown is standing at a small hill nearby. The wind is howling at a raging speed and the person laughs. A high pitched laughter, a maniacal laughter, a laughter which takes pleasure in being sadistic.

I could never figure out what it meant. I had the same dream for three years on and off. But I just could not figure it out. I wish I could have earlier……

Coming back to my nightmare, this is how it goes.

I am walking down a flight of steps late one night. It’s lonely but crowded, gay but eerie, an unearthly happiness is in the air. Am fatigued so I ignore my sreaming instinct to turn back and push myself down the stairs.

At the bottom of the stairs, I land on the train platform: the MRT. I vividly remember the station design but for the life of me I can’t figure out which MRT station it is.

My station is the last one in that line and am wondering how long more the train is going to take to appear. Suddenly, the train comes from the opposite direction. From the direction of the other stations. It is traveling at a very high speed and it zooms past my station. It does not stop. There is no announcement.

I am puzzled. More so as the direction the train took is to the depot. Puzzled because the train was full of passengers.

A train now comes from the correct direction. I just presume the previous train was carrying the depot night shift workers and dismiss it from my mind.

I pull myself off the seat, walk towards one of the entry doors and wait for the train. The train comes. It is the same train. The same passengers are there. The lady in gray skirt and pink tops sitting on the first seat, the gentleman in striped white shit and black pant standing. But this time they are all bloody. They are all dead.

2 thoughts on “Nightmare

What do you think?

